Talk

Advanced search

Scary trailer triggered fear in my 10 year old daughter..

(11 Posts)
Anuja Mon 08-Apr-13 21:43:36

Hi all,
This is my first time on mumsnet and it was my GP who suggested I should join. I have two daughters, 10 and 4 years old. My older one had gone to a friends party and they decided to do weird searches on you tube! They ended up looking at horror trailers, mainly related to a clown.
Since that day, been two weeks now she is scared to be alone, does not go to any part of the house without my younger one. Plus she has nightmares.
I have no idea how to get rid of this fear she has. Please help...

LunaticFringe Mon 08-Apr-13 22:32:24

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

RowanMumsnet (MNHQ) Tue 09-Apr-13 14:25:21

Hello

We've moved this to 'Behaviour/development' now

Welcome Anuja - hope you get some good advice.

Sparklymommy Tue 09-Apr-13 18:08:56

I don't really know what to suggest but I had a similar problem with my DD1. She stayed at a friends house when she was 8 and they watched something scary about vampires. Since then she won't stay anywhere overnight and I she is now 10. I have tried talking to her about it, but she just clams up and then she says it doesn't matter. She has never been a fan of anything scary, and that includes Harry potter, dr Who or anything like that.

BeerTricksPotter Tue 09-Apr-13 18:13:57

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

TheNebulousBoojum Tue 09-Apr-13 18:40:56

My DS struggled with the fiction/reality aspects of film. What helped was viewing the extras on a film, where they show the special effects, the makeup and the actors taking when not in role. As BTP suggests.
Might not help with this specific incident, but for the future.

Svrider Tue 09-Apr-13 21:57:51

I was scared by a trailer at a similar age. All I can really suggest in be patient. Allow her a bed side light, and her little sister for company if required
I'm sure she will be fine with time

stargirl1701 Tue 09-Apr-13 22:39:06