Talk

Advanced search

Behavioural optometry

(5 Posts)
chlosoph Tue 26-Mar-13 10:56:09

I have a six year old daughter,(June she be 7) I am a worried mum as teacher says she is behind in most things I have busted a gut trying to bring her forward as some times I think maybe it's my fault some how, as I have a 10 year old who is a year above her age in all her work. ( I seem to compare my oldest daughter with my youngest with what she did at this age.) I was told last week that maybe I should take her to a Behavioural optometrist, she does wear glasses and as a regular check up I'm also taking her this week to dr's to check her hearing. (incase she as glue ear.) I have been in touch with one and they are quite a bit expensive. Are they any good, and what do they do?

Stephanie16 Tue 26-Mar-13 12:00:29

I think we all tend to compare when we have 2 children I do the same with my 2 children. I do the same I compared them from the start and still do. What we have to remember is noone has two children who develop indentically. I am sure more mums will tell you how different each of their child and sometimes we have to accept that. Is her teacher worried that she is really behind or have any other concerns? In general how is she?

MRSJWRTWR Tue 26-Mar-13 14:53:18

I have a similar age gap between my two boys DS2 will be 7 in June and DS1 is nearly 14.

I too, am finding it difficult to stop comparing the two, mainly because DS1 was academically much further ahead at this age than DS2, particularly in maths, and I worry now and again. However, I try to remind myself that of course you cant/shouldnt compare two very different children and there are other areas where DS2 is stronger. (plus maybe he takes after me rather than DH as I was useless at maths as well).

DS2 has had problems with concentration in class and with writing in particular and has had help from an OT with this (he was referred by his old school).