Talk

Advanced search

Do babies prefer certain colours?

(13 Posts)
bigredtractor Wed 31-Aug-11 18:52:46

Hello, We have a 10 month old DS who seems to favour anything and everything green! Toys, objects, anything really.

It's v odd- he makes a bee-line for anything green and picks green things out of groups of identical things, e.g. Balls, blocks, cups etc.

Anyone ever experienced anything similar? We're just curious really, to see whether it's normal baby behaviour!! Not concerned, just interested...

bigredtractor Wed 31-Aug-11 20:37:54

Shameless bump... sorry!

diyvspse Wed 31-Aug-11 20:42:27

That's easy. Geniuses prefer green.

envy

bigredtractor Wed 31-Aug-11 20:56:00

Nooooooooo! It's a serious question... Well, obviously not serious in the scale of things, but we're genuinely curious!!

I did initially think 'colour blind?', but then realised that made no sense! D'oh...

kellieb7 Wed 31-Aug-11 20:58:53

I am no expert but my DD (8 months) definately has a preference for pink and will also go for pink things before anything else.
I also wonder many things like this grin

bigredtractor Wed 31-Aug-11 21:07:00

Good to know- thanks smile

diyvspse Wed 31-Aug-11 21:31:44

I was being serious too!

hollysmam Wed 31-Aug-11 21:43:17

For a long time my dd has liked to match certain things of a specific colour, eg blue goes with red and green goes with yellow or orange. Lego blocks mostly. I have never seen her with a blue and yellow one!!! Think it must be that these colours obviously 'go' together!! grin

boognish Thu 01-Sep-11 22:47:39

I got my 6mo ds an ELC pack of 3 emergency vehicles, so red, white and blue. The fire engine won hands down.

ThroughTheRoundWindow Sat 03-Sep-11 21:28:37