Talk

Advanced search

Imaginary hands - anyone had any experience of this? Child psychologist advice welcome.

(15 Posts)
puzzlesb Wed 24-Aug-11 12:51:29

Please be nice to me this is my first time on here - I was advised to ask here by some friends who are very interested but don't know how to help.

My daughter, age 3 years just turned has hands that have names (we will call them L and C as somehow I feel I'm betraying her confidence telling you the names she uses!). They consistently have the same names for each hand. I can't remember when they came about - probably around the time my son was born (he's just turned a year) but couldn't be sure. They come and go - as in she talks about them more or less. When they first started I had no idea what she was talking about for ages, and then it occured to me that it was her hands. They would regularly have conversations in the back of the car - imaginary play type stuff where it would be one of their turns, then the other and you would hear 'no C... don't touch that', 'no L.... it's my turn' etc.