Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

New baby/older brother jealousy

(5 Posts)
Eki1 Mon 18-Jul-11 21:11:38

Hi,
This is my first time on mumsnet but I've been getting really stressed out over the past few weeks about my DS's behaviour.
I have a new baby(10 weeks) and my DS has suddenly gone from being sweet older brother to green eyed monster. He's clearly very angry with the new situation cos when I BF the baby, he tries to attack him, he won't look me in the eye, he cries and runs to daddy and throw things at me whilst the baby is feeding. He is 2, so may have just hit the terrible twos but I need some advice on how to handle his deteriating behaviour and how to help him manage his anger about this new situation. I am also having difficulty trying not to get angry with him, so far Im gently taking him aside and asking him to kiss his brother/or me to say sorry. He's started behaving badly at nursery as well and pushes other children over. Help!

ceebeegeebies Mon 18-Jul-11 21:23:22

I really feel for you as I went through this aswell and it was a hellish time for us all tbh - it does pass but it really does feel awful when you are in the middle of it sad

Ds1 was 2.4 when DS2 was born and he suddenly changed from being a very happy, smily child to having tantrums, biting DS2, hitting him etc (but on the flip side, he was totally obsessed with him and wanted to be near him all the time and wanted to know where he was etc). DS2 spent a lot of time in a travel cot in the lounge when DS1 was around as it was the only place DS1 couldn't reach his fingers to bite <sigh>...he still threw things in though!

It also seemed to coincide with DS1's sleeping habits going to pot as we had moved him into a bed just before DS2 was born and he refused to stay in it and would be up and down all night (although, in hindsight, i do wonder if this was due to the fact that me, DH and DS2 were all in the same room whilst he was by himself in another room?)