Talk

Advanced search

Nearly 4yo DS has snapped 3 pieces of wooden track

(7 Posts)
milliemuffin Sun 26-Jun-11 12:03:57

He got a huge wooden train table for Christmas and is very clever at making up different tracks and usually plays quite well with it. We are expecting DC3 any day now but we also have an 18mo DD who has recently been showing an interest and enjoys putting track together. In the last 10 days he has snapped 3 parts of track. It's only soft wood so is easily done if you try and bend the pieces. We've glued back the other 2 but now I'm wondering what's the best way for him to learn the value of his toys. Don't fix the broken pieces? Take the whole thing away for a while? (not the table but the track and the trains?).

Any advice on the best way to make him appreciate his toys?

Shannaratiger Sun 26-Jun-11 12:24:39

I'm no expert on child behaviour, given the bad behaviour of my ds (4), but I'd take all the track away for eg. 2 days, explain why then when you bring it back out remind him in a positive way how he should play with it. Don't remind him of the bad thing he did otherwise he's likely to do it again as soon as he gets frustrated. I'm sure someone else will come along with more help.

Hippee Sun 26-Jun-11 16:00:37