Talk

Advanced search

lost my hold on my 9 yr old DD

(7 Posts)
Emmteethree Sun 05-Jun-11 17:41:46

This is my first time ever posting anything on the net - but I feel like I need some help regarding my DD. She is a fun lively and very friendly girl, that is full of energy, with a huge positive attitude to life and she has the ability to not get herself down about things (in other words has the ability to easily just switch off and forget certain situations) my problem is her behavioral skills with us (the parents) she does not listen to instructions or follows through. She interrupts and is very self absorbed as a person and has no self-control. She is not mindful of her younger brother who is 3.5yrs old. She has a negative influence on him. he copies everything that my DD says and does. This infuriates us and all we keep doing as a family is fighting with her and trying to make her understand that she has to set a good example to her younger brother and if she listens and knows when to stop, all would be okay. I think I should also mention that my DD is quite well behaved when its one on one and we end up doing something alone with her, she is great. I have been reading up about ADHD and my DD fits most of the Inattention symptoms. I am not keen on putting her on any heavy medication, but have no idea what to do with her like this. I thought of some sort of therapy might be useful. Is there any body that might be able to give me more advice, as we are desperate now especially since baby no3 is on its way.

Madlizzy Sun 05-Jun-11 17:44:16

You could be describing many other 9 year old girls. How does she get on at school? Does she sit and concentrate there? Are there ever any consequences to her actions? Do you give her a list of instructions or just one then let her complete that one? Maybe some parenting classes would be helpful, and your HV should be able to put you in touch with one.

Emmteethree Sun 05-Jun-11 18:10:55