Talk

Advanced search

My 9 year old won't sleep!

(13 Posts)
Azft35 Sat 18-Dec-10 23:39:21

This is my first time here and I just don't know what to do.

My daughter is 9. She's shared a room with her little sister since she was 5.

We've moved house 5 times now in 3 years and she's never had a problem with sleep. She generally goes to bed at 9pm and sleeps till 7am no problems. She has never had any emotional/behavioural problems during any of these moves and has settled well (we changed school once as we moved out of the area but she returned to her old school and settled again within days)

Our latest move was 4 weeks ago and we moved to a bigger house (hopefully a more permanent one too) and decided it would be good for her to have her own room. She was initially very happy with this.

She was ok for the first week or so, no problems at bedtime. But then she started getting up in the night, saying she couldn't get back to sleep and kept having bad dreams and she couldn't stop thinking about horrible things (when questioned further she said she kept dreaming that she was a giant in a world of tiny people) and she couldn't get back to sleep.

After a few days of sending her back to her room with her then crying until she woke the other children up, we decided to ask her little sister to share her room again, which they both agreed to.

It is now a major problem. She refuses to sleep in her own bed at all! She climbs into bed with her little sister and practically clings to her all night. She is fine in the day but when it comes to bedtime she cries, says she feels unwell and refuses to sleep. I've tried everything, bribing, shouting, cajoling, playing, music, stories, cuddles. Even when she's fallen asleep she'll wake up in kind of a daze and become almost hysterical when we send her back to bed.