Bread sticking in the tin! At the end of my tether

(10 Posts)
tillytubby Sun 30-Oct-16 06:14:56

I've been baking my own bread for nearly two years and have gone through countless supposedly non stick tins in that time. They start off ok but after a few months use the non stick fails and I end up cutting the bread out with a pallet knife and scratching the tin to add to its woes. This also inevitably leads to bread covered in non stick coating residue which I have to scrape off!

I recently spent £20 on a Lakeland earthenware loaf tin which by the description sounded like the answer. But again spent 20mibs prising it out and another ruined tin!

Where am i going wrong? I always grease the tin first and that usually is enough at first. Is there a better range on the market without this problem?

canyou Sun 30-Oct-16 06:18:16

I now use tge silicone plastic type and then remove the bread when 'set' ie will hold its shape and continue baking.
But looking forward to an answer as I think it may be the material use now I remember my Nana having an old battered heavy tin that never stuck with only a dusting if flour.

BertrandRussell Sun 30-Oct-16 06:23:39

Have you tried greasing then flouring?

shutthatbloodydoor Sun 30-Oct-16 06:27:36

I don't bother with a tin. My loaves are a rustic because I just vaguely shape them on a baking sheet covered in baking parchment.

SpaceDinosaur Sun 30-Oct-16 06:34:12

Silicone.
<nods sagely>

Silicone "tins" are freaking awesome!

Take the £20 one back to Lakeland. They should refund you if it's not up to the jo

4merlyknownasSHD Mon 31-Oct-16 09:37:20

Your "Grease" may be the problem. What are you using? Olive Oil goes sticky at high temperatures (and they are certainly high for bread). I use an anodised aluminium one which I grease with block butter (not a spreadable with additives) and then dust with flour. My loaves literally drop out when I turn the pan over.

PinkSwimGoggles Mon 31-Oct-16 09:40:15