Talk

Advanced search

Breadmaking doesn’t get easier than this!

(24 Posts)
Breadandwine Mon 05-Oct-15 12:35:54

I’ve been teaching people how to make bread for the past 22 years. For the past 13 years I have been running a weekly Family Learning Breadmaking session at a local primary school, teaching parents and (lately) reception-age children. Over 5 weeks we make at least 10 different varieties of bread – and no-one leaves school without being able to make bread! smile

All children, of whatever age, without exception (IME), love making bread – there’s something about having permission to get messy. (I tell them if you can’t make a mess when you’re making bread, when can you? grin) There is also tasting the bread when it comes out of the oven – and the pride involved when they show their bread to their teacher, and take the bread home and share it with their families. The children do all the work, the adults only come in and help when the child finds something difficult.

As an aside, the hardest thing for the mothers in the session (doesn’t affect fathers so much) is not to get their hands in and take over from their children. To help in this, I get the mums to sit back in their chairs, and, if they find their backs coming away from the chair back, that’s an indication that they are getting anxious. They are encouraged to relax and just let the kids get on with it – and they are always impressed by how well the youngsters get on!

In the first session we always make soda breads (either plain or fruited with spice) and a batch of fancy dinner rolls (or shapes). But in the following four weeks, the families choose what they would like to make.

We almost always end up making loaves/pizzas/Chelsea buns/pain au chocolat – and we often make a simple chocolate cake/pancakes/pikelets/iced buns, etc.