Talk

Advanced search

How to make a cheesecake firm?

(12 Posts)
sniffle12 Sat 29-Aug-15 21:06:30

I'm new to making cheesecake and all the recipes I can find online have different ingredients and ratios thereof, including cream cheese, creme fraiche, double cream, sour cream, etc etc.

I've tried a few and the cheese mixture sets very softly - I prefer quite a firm, dense set like those you get in supermarket-bought cheesecakes.

What ingredients/ratios can you use for a firmer set? Or does anybody have a recipe they swear by?

Thanks! smile

treaclesoda Sat 29-Aug-15 21:07:27

Is it a baked cheesecake or a non baked one?

sniffle12 Sat 29-Aug-15 21:19:09

Non-baked smile

penny13610 Sat 29-Aug-15 21:21:59

Gelatin is the way to get a non baked cheesecake to set firm.

Be brave and make a baked one, they are much nicer and firmer.

CharleyDavidson Sat 29-Aug-15 21:22:48

A bit of alcohol or acid can help set your cheesecake a bit firmer, as well as making sure that you use full fat cream cheese (the cheaper stuff can be a bit looser than something like philly too) as well as double cream which you whip quite firm.

I swear by the good food Baileys cheesecake recipe. Or one where I use cream cheese, whipped cream, lemon and lime juice and a bit of sugar. Yummy.

For a really firm cheesecake you are better off trying a baked recipe though.

treaclesoda Sat 29-Aug-15 21:25:22

I was going to say the same as the others but they got there first. smile

Allalonenow Sat 29-Aug-15 21:27:10

You could try adding extra lemon juice, and / or if you are using cream /yoghurt etc, set it in a fine sieve to drain for few hours before you use it (this is why Greek style yoghurt is thick ~ it's been drained)

Baked cheese cake is always thicker and more solid, most supermarket cheese cakes are baked as they have a longer shelf life.

sniffle12 Sat 29-Aug-15 22:59:34