Talk

Advanced search

I want to decorate a cake

(19 Posts)
Pastamancer Wed 12-Aug-15 20:57:05

There is no occasion, I just fancy baking and icing a cake because I have never done it before. Normally if I make a cake then it is a bog standard victoria sandwich but with buttercream as well as jam in the middle.

I want to use icing on the top, not cream cheese, ganache or anything like that. I also would like to pipe some royal icing around the bottom.

I have a choice of cake tins, all 8" round. There are 2 shallow ones that I normally use, 1 medium and 1 deep. The shallow ones have a loose base, the medium is a spring one and the deep is just a solid, 1 piece tin.

As I am just doing this to learn a skill I'm not too worried about what it looks like.

Does anyone have any suggestions on what to do? I'm not sure what type of cake to make, do I make madeira or normal sponge? Do I do 2 cakes and stack or 1 and cut? If I cut then any suggestions on how best to do it? What recipe would you recommend for the size tins I have and how much icing do I need?

lougle Wed 12-Aug-15 21:18:52

OK...

Crack 5 eggs into a bowl and weigh them. Use that weight of stork/butter and caster sugar and cream it together until pale and fluffy. Gradually add the eggs, beating well. Add the same weight of sifted flour and 1tsp of baking powder. Mix until the mixture is smooth only.

Split it between the two tins and bake for 35-40 minutes at 160c fan/180 conventional.

Butter cream between cakes.

You'll need about 800g fondant icing to cover it. Roll it to about 0.5cm thick. Use cornflour lightly to stop it sticking to the worktop. Don't over flour it or it will stiffen.

Royal icing: here

Slacken it with a little water (2-3 mls at a time) until a line drawn through it with a spoon disappears after 25-30 seconds. Use a no. 4 nozzle for a thick line or no. 2 for writing/thin line.

chumbler Thu 13-Aug-15 09:38:50

you can practise your fondant icing shapes with play dough wink