Talk

Advanced search

Lost my recipe for my son's Christening cake and need to make it next week

(8 Posts)
Hoophopes Sat 06-Oct-12 17:39:30

Hi - I am an inexperienced baker, but I practised making a sponge/madeira type cake with my Mum a few months ago and it worked. However I lost the piece of paper with it on and Mum has since passed away, and I desperate to make it like we did! I was planning on using fondant icing and have bought a cake topper - could I use buttercream icing to hold the topper on, or is there a better way?

Would appreciate a recipe if anyone has one of a cake that will hold the weight of icing etc. Thanks.

Hoophopes Sat 06-Oct-12 17:40:09

I have a 10" round tin.

blueberryboybait Sat 06-Oct-12 20:59:00

Is the topper icing or plastic? If it is icing then a little vodka/water brushed where you want the topper to go will hold it in place, if it is plastic then if you mix a little fondant with water to make a thickish glue and use that to stick the topper on.

As for madeira cake I use the wedding cake recipe on the Good Food website, it works well and I have never had a flop with it.

Hoophopes Sun 07-Oct-12 10:43:33

Hi - it is clay dough, sorry should have posted that information. Thanks will look up that recipe, sounds helpful.

blueberryboybait Sun 07-Oct-12 13:07:32

With claydough then the fondant glue should work, or just balance it on once the cake is set up for the day.

Hoophopes Sun 07-Oct-12 19:53:16

thanks blueberry - will try the fondant glue. I am going to try cutting letters out of fondant as well, so will try it for that also.

blueberryboybait Sun 07-Oct-12 19:58:18

When cutting the letters out of fondant dip the cutters in corn flour first then the letters will not stick and retain their shape better.

Hoophopes Sun 07-Oct-12 20:01:06

Thanks for that - think will try a few letters first as well.

Join the discussion

Join the discussion