Talk

Advanced search

Is it bonkers to change DD's name?

(55 Posts)
JustcallmeDog Wed 12-Aug-09 08:59:09

Message withdrawn

WinkyWinkola Wed 12-Aug-09 09:02:09

Change the name if you're that unhappy with it. She's only six months. Do it if it will make you happy.

Ignore your mother. She has no say in this issue. She can call your DD what she likes - a pet name will probably emerge whatever you call her.

yama Wed 12-Aug-09 09:05:02

I don't see why you shouldn't change it.

People will get used to the new name soon enough. Your Mum should support you.

theyoungvisiter Wed 12-Aug-09 09:08:15

I am not an expert, but do you think it might cause confusion later in life, if she has a different name on her birth certificate to her legal name?

TBH I think I would be inclined to just use a pet name or her middle name instead, and not legally change her name unless you are absolutely 100% sure that you want to do it. But of course if you are 100% then go for it.

What does your DH think? You and he are the only ones that really get a say smile

teamcullen Wed 12-Aug-09 09:09:08

start calling her the new name for a few weeks before you get it changed, that way it gives everybody the chance to get used to it.

JustcallmeDog Wed 12-Aug-09 09:13:34

Message withdrawn

daisy78 Wed 12-Aug-09 09:20:59

If you are really unhappy with her name, I don't see any reason why you shouldn't change it. At 6 months, she still can't recognise her own name, so there will be no confusion for your daughter.

It might take other people a while to get used to it, but they will. I expect that they would forget that she was ever called anything different eventually!

You need to be sure though, and I think your partner would also need to on board. I am shocked that your mother is being so unsupportive. This is your baby and your choice.