Talk

Advanced search

Have I accidentally started a theme?

(32 Posts)
user1487804542 Tue 21-Mar-17 19:57:44

I have two DDs, Miranda and Imogen and we have just found out we are expecting DD3. By accident, my girls' names are both from Shakespeare plays. Our favourite name this time is Cecilia, but I worry that her name doesn't 'match' her sisters (especially because there's a Shakespearean Celia, but I don't love it!).

Will DD3 feel left out of the Shakespearean theme or am I overthinking this?

BikeRunSki Tue 21-Mar-17 19:58:31

You're over thInking

MrsHathaway Tue 21-Mar-17 19:59:49

Overthinking.

A friend with an Imogen and a Miranda named her DD3 Lydia. I think they and Cecilia have a very similar feel.

TisapityshesaGeordie Tue 21-Mar-17 19:59:53

My degree is in theatre, and I wouldn't automatically make that connection anyway. It's not like you've gone for Juliet and Ophelia.

MadamePomfrey Tue 21-Mar-17 20:00:23

I'm not a Shakespeare buff so I may not help but I wouldn't even click that your DDS had Shakespeare names so I would just go with what you like and not worry about it

ExcellentWorkThereMary Tue 21-Mar-17 20:01:09

Overthinking.

MrsHathaway Tue 21-Mar-17 20:01:45

If you were naming a DC6 and the other five had very Shakespearean names (Hermia, Valentine, Ferdinand, Hamlet, Ophelia) then she might feel left out. But not as the third when the name you like is stylistically similar.

cementedminds Tue 21-Mar-17 20:05:10

Overthinking! I like a bit of Shakespeare but it wouldn't have been the first thing that sprang to mind. However if you did want to stick with the theme how about Cecily (from Richard III)?

user1487804542 Tue 21-Mar-17 20:11:20

That's what I was hoping to hear smile Thank you!

lazycrazyhazy Tue 21-Mar-17 20:21:45

I'm into my Shakespeare too but wouldn't have thought of it. If you wanted a C name though from Shakespeare I know a lovely Cressida and also a Cordelia... Cecilia is love though!