We rely on advertising to keep the lights on.

Please consider adding us to your whitelist.

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Iago?

(38 Posts)
Badge2 Mon 13-Mar-17 19:02:07

Hi I'm new to this so bear with me...

Found out we are having a Boy and really want a Welsh name, out of all the names me and my DH have heard we love Iago (pronounced ee-ah-go)

Only problem is no one else seems to like it and keep getting told it's a bad-guys name (Othello/Aladdin?)

Is it really a that bad a name? Any other suggestions?

Megatherium Mon 13-Mar-17 19:05:30

Yes, it is that bad a name. Jago?

ErrolTheDragon Mon 13-Mar-17 19:09:02

I'm sorry, but Shakespeare really did ruin the name Iago - it's on a par with Judas or Cain. Anyway, isn't Iago a Spanish name?

The most similar name I can think of is Inigo - again, not Welsh but the most famous one was at least a Jones.grin

Kazzawazza69 Mon 13-Mar-17 19:10:47

It's quite a cool name but it does make me think of Aladdin. I don't think I'd be brave enough, but if you like it go for it!

florascotianew Mon 13-Mar-17 19:11:27

It's a nice enough name - version of Jacob if I remember correctly - but also if I remember aright the Welsh pronunciation is more like eih-yahh-gaw. Though there may well be regional variations.

Jago, as pp says, is the Cornish version

It's THE baddie name in classical English literature, and there's no getting away from that. It all depends on whether you and your family and friends think that Shakespeare is going to be referred to all the time in everyday life. I'd say that it probably won't be ....

Jooni Mon 13-Mar-17 19:13:08

I can definitely see the appeal but it does make me think of the villain in Othello. I love Jago though, but it isn't Welsh.

What about Iolo?

Badge2 Mon 13-Mar-17 19:13:11

My husband did say that when typed it could look like jago or Lago but it's iago

It was in a Welsh names book that we had gifted to us it apparently is the Welsh version of James or Jacob