Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Emmeline or Romilly?

(64 Posts)
isby Wed 14-Dec-16 18:26:48

[peeks head nervously round the door] Hello! I'm Isby and I'm new to Mumsnet. I'm expecting two bundles of joy. A little boy and a little girl! We have three children already. My oldest's first name is the same as the patroness of Paris and her middle name is the birthstone of October, which coincidentally enough is why I chose it! My only son (so far!) has the same first name as Roosevelt and his middle name is a family name, that is the same as an organ in the human body without a letter in it. And my beautiful youngest, has a name that means 'free man' and her middle name is the known name of the creator of Peter Rabbit. Get their names and I'll tell you what we call them in everyday time.

Anyway, if you don't want to play my name, here's the real purpose of this thread. I want to name my son Abraham Jude. His middle name is his dad's middle name. He will be known as Abe or Bram.
Our daughter's name is what we are struggling on! If we name her Emmeline, she will be Emmeline Olive and if we name her Romilly, she will be Romilly Juliet. Olive is a variation of my middle name but I don't quite love it. Emmeline would be pronounced Emma-leen. She would be known as Emmy and Romilly would be Romy/Millie. I'm worried that Emmeline will fade in to the background of Emily, Emilia, Emma etc. On the other hand, Romilly is so beautiful but I worry that it was originally a male name and is too different. Which would you pick? For Abraham's twin.

MilkTwoSugarsThanks Wed 14-Dec-16 18:29:35

Emmeline. Simply because it is my favourite girl's name and if DS had been a DD he would have been Emmeline.

keekaw Wed 14-Dec-16 18:33:19

Think I'd go for Romilly - it's gorgeous and unusual without being twatty.

Wombletor Wed 14-Dec-16 18:39:12

Romilly
BTW love all the namessmile

NavyandWhite Wed 14-Dec-16 18:41:16

Romilly smile

Awwlookatmybabyspider Wed 14-Dec-16 18:41:45