Talk

Advanced search

Help me choose my baptism name please

(14 Posts)
3ofeach Fri 19-Oct-12 20:49:52

I am getting baptised and confirmed in a few weeks and have the option of taking a saints name at the same time. I am quite excited about this as obviously did not get to choose my 2 names I have so far and not over keen on them so its nice to have a bit of input. I do realise I probably will not use it everyday or even legally but it will be a nice way to mark something important to me.
My first name is Alexandra, current middle name also long. I am a midwife so wanted a link to this is possible. Unfortunately the patron sint of Midwives is St Raymond so thats outsmile
Thoughts so far are
Elizabeth - too long / too many syllables?
Catherine ( prefer Katherine but C spelling is used for St Catherine) Also minor patron saint of Midwives
Edith - have always loved this name
Mary - very linked to women and children

I do have a front runner but I thought it would be interesting to hear the opinions of the great MN jury

ellesabe Fri 19-Oct-12 20:55:30

Mary gets my vote and I thought of it before I even read your list smile

TheWoollybacksWife Fri 19-Oct-12 21:01:45

All those names are lovely, particularly Edith.

How about Geraldine - from St Gerard Majella, patron saint of pregnant women?

amck5700 Fri 19-Oct-12 21:20:37

What about Salome? wasn't she a midwife? - or see who's "day" marks a significant day for you e.g your baptism day etc.

LonelyCloud Fri 19-Oct-12 22:53:33

Wasn't Salome the one who convinced her father to chop off the head of John the Baptist?

amck5700 Fri 19-Oct-12 23:52:05

There were two smile

LonelyCloud Sat 20-Oct-12 18:37:53

Okay then. I'd only heard of the one I mentioned.

amck5700 Sat 20-Oct-12 18:40:24

...tbh I hadn't heard of any of them grin

I am not religious and not a catholic. I just googled saint and midwife - it did say not to confus ethe saint with the daughter of pontias pilot though.