Talk

Advanced search

Can anyone tell me what I do with cutouts?

(10 Posts)
darlingbud Mon 30-May-05 19:41:23

I am quite new to card making and to start me off I bouhgt a starters kit from ebay. ncluded in it are some cuts outs of various things such as dogs, cats roses etc but I am not sure what I should do with them or how I should use them. They are just one tone of colour and quite boring. any advice?

darlingbud Mon 30-May-05 20:07:38

anyone?

should I use pens to put details on them? or use them plain? I just don't know what to do with them but feel they would look good on cards if used correctly.

darlingbud Mon 30-May-05 20:29:49

no card makers on here tonight?

Louise1980 Mon 30-May-05 20:31:11

You do whatever you like they are your cards and you make the rules. Im just answering you coz I hate it when no1 answers my threads!

Dior Mon 30-May-05 20:31:53

Message withdrawn

darlingbud Mon 30-May-05 20:34:50

at last - thanks both. I wasn'r sure if they were to decorate or not. will have a go with a couple now.

champs Mon 30-May-05 21:28:54

awwww hi hun, wasn't around til now.
there's loads you can do with cut outs.
as dior says use glitter,
you can matt/layer the cut outs onto two or three different papers/cards and stick onto cards. If you like you can use 3d foam pads to raise the layers. write or stick a greeting on the front,
are you familiar with decopage? you can use cut outs to make these and then stick on to your card.
use pens/felt tips to decorate the cut outs.

without seeing them I could only give general tips. hope that helps.

darlingbud Thu 02-Jun-05 16:20:07

THanks - I had a go with a dog/puppy one and it turned ut rubbish. I used gel pens to do the collar etc but it was a bit naff.

champs Thu 02-Jun-05 17:22:31

hmmm. have you tried leaving the cutouts as they are and layering card underneath them? always gives a prof touch.