Talk

Advanced search

Quilting novice needs advice!

(12 Posts)
bunjies Sat 08-Aug-09 13:47:58

OK, when I say I'm a novice that kind of implies I have made a start. I'm still at the what do all the terms mean stage. I kind of understand what a 'fat quarter' is and getting to grips with blocks etc.

My question is does a quilt have to have a pattern to it? I'd rather make something that is random but is this still called a quilt? Is this patchwork or is that something totally different? All the guides I've looked at seem to have very symmetrical designs to the quilts which can be nice but just don't appeal. What I'd like to do is get together different fabrics and put them together. Is this technically a 'quilt'? Will I be looked down on for such heresy?

Also, if I want to make a king size bed sized quilt how many fat quarters do I need?

Thanks.

Niecie Sun 09-Aug-09 01:47:20

Yes that would still be patchwork. Anything involving joining bits of fabric together to make something bigger would be.

There is a name for what you are describing I think, (though I stand to be corrected if somebody knows better) - it is crazy quilt method. Like this perhaps?

Do you mean different types of fabrics or different patterns? I am assuming types of fabric - It does make it more difficult for a beginner, unless you have sewing skills, to use different types of fabric for the same quilt. I just happen to have my lovely Quilter's Resource Book to hand and I think it has the sort of quilt you are describing in there - the one I have in mind has brocade, velvet and silk in a randon sort of crazy paving design. Gorgeous but hard work, I should imagine.