Talk

Advanced search

Help from card makers please - Your favourite equipment - What would it be?

(21 Posts)
Niecie Sun 12-Oct-08 10:44:26

Hi,

I want to start cardmaking. I have all the cards, lovely papers, embellishments, sticker, ribbons, punches etc. I have magazines full of ideas too.

However, I don't know how to get a professional looking finish and I am put off starting properly - the magazines tell you to stick and cut but they don't tell you how - scissors or craft knives, glue dots or Pritt sticks? It is a confusing world out there for a novice.

So, lovely card making MNers, what bits of kit do you need to get a good finish? smile

P.S. This is supposed to be a money saving exercise so tip top-of-the-range fancy-pants cutting thingies might be uneconomic even if they would be on a wish list. Thank you.

Jacanne Sun 12-Oct-08 10:56:43

I am an extreme amateur but I think that some card punches would be a good idea (they're from about £2.50-£4.50 but you could buy a couple at a time) - I did a card making course and these worked brilliantly. For fixing stuff down we used double sided sticky tape and for 3d effects those tiny square sticky fixers.

I found this site to be quite cheap (relatively speaking) - a pack of 50 blank cards was £6.99 compared to WH Smiths £9.99.

Niecie Sun 12-Oct-08 11:04:31

Oh lovely site. Thank you Jacanne.

I like those trimmer things on the front page.

I'm thinking a good craft knife and a cutting mat would be as good? Maybe?

I have lovely papers which need to be stuck down and cut to the size of the card and don't know the best way to go about it.

Would double sided tape do for that too?

Jacanne Sun 12-Oct-08 11:08:52

You can get all different thicknesses of double sided tape - I've used it to stick on ribbon, backing paper and felt so I would think it would be fine - you can be quite accurate with it and it is tidier than glue.

WhizzzingAroundOnABroomstick Sun 12-Oct-08 11:13:44