Talk

Advanced search

How do I learn t knit?? please help..

(15 Posts)
jemimap Sun 13-Jul-08 11:19:14

I would love to learn but am a total beginner.. can anyone recommend any books or any other way of learning from scratch... I'm extremely impatient and will only stick to it if I can produce a half decent cardigan for my 3 children in a short period of time!!! Otherwise... does anyone want to knit me the cardi's and ill pay!!

princessofpower Sun 13-Jul-08 17:04:22

Message withdrawn

suwoo Sun 13-Jul-08 17:26:25

I have just taught myself to knit using various websites. I have just done excessive googling of 'learn to knit' 'how to knit' 'how to cast on' etc and there have been loads of websites with photographs that have helped me get started.

SqueakyPop Sun 13-Jul-08 17:29:22

Use double knitting or larger to get started, and only make something small.

Do you know anyone who could show you and sit with you? That is the very best way.

I'm sure the websites are fine. The old-fashioned Golden Hands books were great.

BellaBear Sun 13-Jul-08 17:30:02

I second the knittinghelp.com website - really good

i started knitting with a debbie bliss book - but I think there are better ways to start as her designs tend to be in babycashmerino which knits up small (and so takes longer) although it is gorgeous.

Why not join ravelry.com - there are plenty of patterns and yarns you could browse, and you could probably find a local knitting group with someone who would give you a helping hand.

belgo Sun 13-Jul-08 17:32:13

start with a scarf or a dolly's blanket -something very simple (and useful) just to practise the stitches before you attempt a cardigan.

cazzybabs Mon 14-Jul-08 12:13:23

I bought the Debbie bliss simple baby knit book and with abit of help from websites and my mum I am up to knitting a jumper = although I have had a bit of nightmare with the baby playing with the wool and it getting a bit knot that I couldn't undo.