Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Advice re cardmarking from a total virign

(14 Posts)
jenkel Tue 04-Jan-05 00:45:34

This is something that I would love to get into. How did you lot get started, any book/magazine recommendations. I'm in Hertfordshire, any local suppliers that any of you know about.

AuntyQuated Tue 04-Jan-05 08:01:16

there are LOADS of mags...some more difficult than others.
one of my favourites is 'QUICK CARDS' and is avaailable in some supermarkets. sorry i'm no where near Herts so don't know of any suppliers.there are loads of internet ones.
do you have anyhting at all to get you started?

AuntyQuated Tue 04-Jan-05 08:03:52

there's a Hobbycraft in Watford if that is anywhere near you.

kkgirl Tue 04-Jan-05 09:13:56

I'm also new to cardmaking, and have bought some magazines, but unless you can get and afford to buy the exact stuff they have used, then you have to try and design cards using the stuff you have.
I bought Anitas starter kit to begin with (about 11.99, which had some blank white cards, foam, gel pens, some peel off stickers etc. I did make a couple from there, there is a booklet with it, but I realised that I would still need to buy extra stuff.
I have been going on ebay and buying cards, and embellishments to design my own.

AQ wondered if you had any really easy starter ideas you could post or pictures of any you have done.

At the moment I am getting a piece of card, adding some mulberry paper or textured card and then an embellishment. Am stuck like that, and want to design a garden themed one. Have some flowerpots, tags, daisies, gladioli and a bee.

BubblesDeVere Tue 04-Jan-05 09:35:14

Have a look on the hobbycraft site, there are some ideas on there on how to make different cards and some of them are really nice.