Any ideas for sewing machine for 10yr old?

(13 Posts)
ChangingStates Tue 02-May-17 16:55:15

My dad is turning 10 and wants a sawing machine for her birthday, can anyone recommend anything that might be suitable?

We are both complete beginners so it only needs to be basic but I don't want a toy either. Also not prepared to spend lots as who knows whether the interest will last, is it possible to get something decent for £60ish...?

Thanks!

OP’s posts: |
ChangingStates Tue 02-May-17 20:01:14

I mean dd not dad shock

BarchesterFlowers Tue 02-May-17 20:05:28

A Singer 99k. DD has had mine since she was 8 and loves it.

www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Vintage-Singer-99K-Hand-Operated-Sewing-Machine-with-Hard-Case-VGC-/391762739736?hash=item5b36e10218:g:uAEAAOSwBOtY~Fla

LadyMonicaBaddingham Tue 02-May-17 20:15:18

A proper one, not a 'toy' one. DS2 had one for his 10th birthday and it has given him a great deal of joy. It's just a very basic electric one, but it's really very good.

fernanie Tue 02-May-17 20:21:29

John Lewis does this one which is very good and really easy to use:
www.johnlewis.com/john-lewis-mini-sewing-machine/p2289767?
I was given one as a wedding present 7 years ago; after about 5 years it gave up the ghost but I'd loved using it so much, and it had so adequate for what I use it for (cushions, curtains, basic dresses etc), that I replaced it with another the same! They used to do it in a lovely cherry red that seems to have been discontinued but there are still a couple of colour options.
It's also very small and light - I've often taken it on cottage-type holidays in case of a rainy day.

sashh Tue 02-May-17 20:25:20

I got one from hoby craft a few years ago - I was skint so couldn't afford a proper machine. This was 1/2 size and only had basic stitches but worked perfectly well. I could make clothes with it.

It's the midi machine. I'd say it would be a good first machine but one you will look to update fairly soon when you find out what you want.