Talk

Advanced search

Quilting help

(18 Posts)
Joolly2 Thu 30-Mar-17 23:30:19

I am attempting to make a small quilt. I have never done this before but all is going well. I am nearly ready to do the quilting bit, I have a walking foot (I was advised to get one) but what do I need to buy to make the nice patterns. I put quilt template into Google and just got plastic shapes come up. I could just do straight lines but thought something a little bit more fancy would be nice. Can anyone help please?

grauduroi Fri 31-Mar-17 07:53:09

Hi
You've bassically got two options: marking the fabric and then following your pattern or free motion where you stich a pattern as you go. If you search 'free motion quilting' lots of tutorials come up and you can see how it is done - although it can take lots of practise to become good. 'Stippling' is the easiest pattern to learn and looks good when you get the hang of it.

Marking your fabric with the patterns takes time but is kinda easier as you have something to follow, although trying to stay on the lines and keep the stitches even is another matter! Watch some tutorials and have a go on some scrap material and see which method works for you. I tend to use both as it depends on the project and the amount of quilting I want to do smile

lljkk Fri 31-Mar-17 08:12:44

Marking the fabric with pencil may work, it tends to wash off ok.

I free-hand quilt using a darning foot. Google "pentagraph" to see possible patterns. I am lazy so do a lot of leaves, hearts, bumble bees & butterflies. But I have managed motorbikes, too. I guess my quilting can look wonky, but then everyone knows a human made the quilt, not a factory made it. I only use the walking foot for binding edges or quilting in the ditch (straight lines, basically); my machine doesn't allow flexible patterns with a walking foot.

it's good to sign and date your quilt (may be a hand stitch job).

Joolly2 Fri 31-Mar-17 08:43:52