Talk

Advanced search

Beginner's knitting problem - help please

(6 Posts)
yaela123 Sat 04-Feb-17 09:13:08

I am quite new to knitting and this is my first attempted pattern (up till now I've kinda just made it up - scarves, blankets, etc.) so sorry if this seems like a stupid

The pattern is for a hat and it is meant to be in stockinette stitch (not garter). It says: (decreasing)

* K 10, K2tog* Repeat around. (88 stitches remaining)
Knit 1 round.
* K 9, K2tog* Repeat around. (80 stitches remaining)
Knit 1 round.

But shouldn't I have to purl every other round in stockinette? Wouldn't this make garter?

Anyone out there who could help me?

sooperdooper Sat 04-Feb-17 09:15:19

Are you knitting it in the round on double pointed needles? If so you just knit around smile

yaela123 Sat 04-Feb-17 09:18:25

It's on circular needles, then double pointed when it gets too small

NightWanderer Sat 04-Feb-17 09:26:20

You don't need to purl on circular needles as the same side is always facing you. With normal knitting you knit a row, turn the knitting over to do the next row, that's why you need to knit one row, purl the next row.

yaela123 Sat 04-Feb-17 09:32:02

Okay, thank you. This makes sense.

I'll try out a small sample before starting the actual pattern

tribpot Sat 04-Feb-17 09:43:43

Doing a small sample of knitting in the round is actually quite tricky - in fact a hat normally is a small sample, if you see what I mean! You can do a gauge swatch for a project knit in the round like this (basically, knit a row of stitches, then push them back up to the left hand needle again, leaving a long bit of yarn in the back so they don't pucker). All in all, I'd just crack on and see how you get on.