Talk

Advanced search

Online sewing shop recommendations

(49 Posts)
coolpotato Thu 05-Jan-17 14:20:30

I've just bought a basic John Lewis sewing machine with some christmas vouchers....really to make basic bits and pieces to start with (cushion covers, drawstring gym bags for kids etc) as I'm a pretty much a beginner.

I know of a couple of sewing shops in my town for getting supplies (aside from Hobbycraft which I believe is pricey?), but wondered if there were any good websites that people can recommend for anything from thread to material and so forth.

reallyanotherone Thu 05-Jan-17 14:23:22

Fabricland is good.

GetMeOut Thu 05-Jan-17 23:27:42

Minerva Crafts seem to have everything.

coolpotato Fri 06-Jan-17 15:37:48

Thanks both, will take a nosey

teawamutu Sat 07-Jan-17 20:38:34

The textile centre (on ebay and have own website) does brilliant cheap fabric. Check out Tilly and the Buttons for really good blog, patterns and tutorials.

Checkedstripes Sun 08-Jan-17 16:35:02

Sew Over It: fab vlog on YouTube and a good range of dressmaking patterns if you're interested in that. They also so fabric but it tends to be a bit spendy.

shinysinkredemption Mon 09-Jan-17 08:03:05

The Sewing Forum is good for advice inc lots of online recommendations. I like Jaycotts: very cheap zips and lots of pattern sales. You can't beat seeing fabric in person though.

Here's a list published by the a Guardian in 2013

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/amp.theguardian.com/fashion/fashion-blog/2013/jun/11/top-ten-fabric-shops-uk?client=safari

coolpotato Thu 12-Jan-17 19:05:40

Thanks everyone! Now just to find some time to browse at leisure!

Snozwanger Thu 12-Jan-17 19:10:56

I love fabrics from Plush Addict, also Fabric Fox which is a smaller online shop. Their fabrics are very modern.

NotMeNoNo Thu 12-Jan-17 19:11:22

I often pick up odd things from eBay, particular zips or notions, buttons etc. Sometimes postage is cheaper.

Anatidae Thu 12-Jan-17 19:15:15