Talk

Advanced search

Dressmakers, can I run something by you, please?

(9 Posts)
lucysmam Mon 05-Jan-15 16:10:12

I'm planning Elsa dresses. The pattern I've ordered calls for an applique on the cape - in the same fabric, attached with fusible web, in a sort of half snowflake pattern.

I'm wondering whether I could skip the applique & just glitter glue the shape straight onto the organza? Or just buy something with snowflakes & just do one cape piece?

TheCountessofFitzdotterel Mon 05-Jan-15 16:12:20

I don't see why not, but fusible web really isn't hard and will look more professional than glitter glue.

lucysmam Mon 05-Jan-15 16:31:53

I'm trying to keep costs down is all. I have glitter glue already so was thinking I could buy less fabric doing that & not need the fusible web as well as applique fabric.

I'll wait until the pattern gets here & have a look how big the applique is.

I've never used fusible web before, is it anything like interfacing to use?

Inthedarkaboutfashion Mon 05-Jan-15 16:34:24

Fusible web is really cheap - 85p per square metre at my local market or you can buy thin strips of it - the hemming tape one (wundaweb), which is £1 for two very long rolls.

lucysmam Mon 05-Jan-15 16:49:42

I've never used Wondaweb!

Inthedarkaboutfashion Mon 05-Jan-15 16:52:31

It's just hemming tape. You iron it between the two layers that you want bonding together. It's very easy to use and super cheap.

lucysmam Mon 05-Jan-15 16:53:17

I might stick to the original instructions then to try it out & have a hunt again for some cheaper fabric.

Inthedarkaboutfashion Mon 05-Jan-15 16:59:25

Once you have used fusible webbing you will find all sorts of uses for it to save you from sewing: repairing trousers hems, fixing sewing or brownie badges to garments, making clothes with invisible hems, reinforcing curtain hems when making new curtains....

lucysmam Mon 05-Jan-15 17:01:22

grin not sewing Brownie badges has sold me on it!

Join the discussion