Talk

Advanced search

janome sewing machine, £99. Is it worth it?

(23 Posts)
mayihaveaboxofchoculaits Sun 09-Nov-14 14:40:24

I'm an occasional machine sewer and my 1960's singer has now given up the ghost, so im looking for a replacement.

What I'm looking for is a sturdy model, that can put up with ham fisted me.
I'll be doing mainly repairs, some easy dress making that sort of thing.

The sales assistant in the shop was suggesting that it might be too basic after a few months, and to go for a slightly more expensive (more features) model.

Has anyone bought this 20 60 model and what do you think of it?

Thanks

TheCunnyFunt Sun 09-Nov-14 19:45:32

I have a Janome 2032, just looked up the 2060 and it appears to have exactly the same features as mine and it's the same price. I have had Jeremy for just over a year now (complete novice, never been near a machine voluntarily in my life!) and he's been great, I've made 2 items of clothing, a dressing gown and a peasant dress. Both of these were for 2yo DD so they were only small things. I love Jeremy, he does everything I want/need him to. My lovely Grandma (she bought me Jeremy, she was over the moon when I told her I wanted to learn to sew!) says that when I've outgrown him she'll buy me an upgrade.

Being a complete beginner when I got him, he's put up with my hamfisted-ness very well over the past year. I broke my first needle last week, that was the first thing that went horribly wrong tbh but it was my fault I think.

If you're not going to be doing anything too ambitious with it then I reckon the 2060 should be fine smile

CuttedUpPear Sun 09-Nov-14 19:48:24

I have a Janome and it's lovely.
Unfortunately I can't find how to switch the light on so I don't use it as much as I would like to.

I did start a thread about this earlier in the year but got no response so I'm hopping onto your thread OP, in case any Janome experts turn up with answers for us both!

TheCunnyFunt Sun 09-Nov-14 19:54:10