Talk

Advanced search

Great British Sewing Bee patterns in The Telegraph - I'm a complete novice to sewing with a pattern

(27 Posts)
stoptalkingmoredoing Sat 22-Mar-14 08:01:20

After making DDs world book day costume on the sewing machine I have decided I would , like to learn to sew using a pattern. DH has come home with The Daily Telegraph which has The Great British Sewing Bee booklet in it and it has a tunic in the booklet which I think I could make and it would be a great beach cover up if I made it in a light cotton rather than silky material and there would be no slipping!

The patterns are in the end of the booklet and it says to enlarge by 500%.

Can I just take them to staples or a photocopy place and get them to do it? Is it really that simple?

I'll come back to my post in at lunchtime because I've got to take DD to swimming and dancing lessons, so don't think I'm ignoring any answers.

TIA

yegodsandlittlefishes Sat 22-Mar-14 08:11:22

How big is the booklet? x500 is a very big invrease, so I doubt Staples or anywhere would have a photocopier big enough. So, if I'm right, you could ask them to make a x10 enlargement and then cut that up into neat pieces, which would each need to be enlarged x50. Then you can cut/fold some of the borders and selotape the full size copies together to make your pattern the correct size.

MirandaWest Sat 22-Mar-14 08:13:51

X 500 sounds a massive increase - is it a really tiny pattern? 1cm in the booklet would be equivalent to 5m which would be a very big outfit. Is it maybe x50?

MirandaWest Sat 22-Mar-14 08:15:41

blushblush.

Have just read properly. 500% would mean you need to multiply it by 5x. 100% would be 1x ie same size etc.

I am mathematically trained, honestly blush

yegodsandlittlefishes Sat 22-Mar-14 08:27:55

Sorry! blush