Talk

Advanced search

Crochet baby blanket, what wool?

(19 Posts)
Giddypants Sat 01-Mar-14 16:54:10

I am planning on making this blanket fora friend who is expecting! I'm not doing the owls different colours! but I'm not sure which yarn to use any ideas?

OwlCapone Sat 01-Mar-14 18:09:59

I love that blanket smile it's been on my Wish list for a good while now.

What sort of budget do you have?

Giddypants Sat 01-Mar-14 18:45:35

Not crazy money, about £3 a ball or so, I was a bit unsure whether I could do it, I'm only a novice but the instructions are fab so easy to follow

Giddypants Sat 01-Mar-14 19:13:38

Are acrylics any good? The ones o bought from hobby craft are a bit fluffy once I've worked with them. I've mainly done things with cotton as I like the feel, but I don't think its appropriate for a baby blanket

mermaidbutmytailfelloff Sat 01-Mar-14 19:19:21

Debbie bliss' baby cashmerino is lovely but about 5 a ball, sometimes good deals on eBay though

Ohbyethen Sat 01-Mar-14 19:48:33

No help at all as I was searching threads for an answer to a similar question but how beautiful is that?! I've completely fallen in love with it (not that I could make it yet I'm still tying my own hands together) I would love to see your finished article before it's lovingly tucked into a new Moses basket.

<happy ravelry sigh>

Trumpton Sat 01-Mar-14 20:06:26

Stylecraft. Lovely colours and it doesn't squeak or go bobbly.

PolterGoose Sat 01-Mar-14 20:19:42

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

OwlCapone Sat 01-Mar-14 21:19:10

I've looked through all my favourite yarns and can't see anything obvious in an Aran weight. Stylecraft does come in an Aran version but the colours are limited - it would depend on what colours you had in mind. There doesn't seem to be anything as zingy as the original.

TheWoollybacksWife Sat 01-Mar-14 21:44:36