Talk

Advanced search

Starting quilting - what do I do?!

(18 Posts)
AngryGnome Thu 18-Apr-13 07:11:48

First post in arts and crafts!

I have kept some of DS's baby clothes with the idea that I will use the fabric to make a quilt. It wil be the first tr I have tried quilting, but I have always fancied a go. Can anyone recommend a good how-to website or book? I'll probably need pretty simple/idiot-proof instructions!
Does anyone know if stretchy baby grow fabric can even be used for quilting?

Thank you smile

overmydeadbody Thu 18-Apr-13 07:18:10

Hi!

I am new to quilting myself, but a good tip is to keep it simple. Go for a simple square patchwork pattern than you can sew on a machine, rather than hand sewing pieces together.

I haven't sewn with stretchy fabric myself but I hear it is good to use a lightweight iron on interfacing with it to stop it stretching when you sew.

Loads of good blogs out there, better than the books.

this was my first ever quilt

It is really fun and addictive!

You need some wadding to pad it out, and fabric for the bottom layer of the quilt, and then you will need binding (doesn't have to be bias) to go around all the edges.

overmydeadbody Thu 18-Apr-13 07:18:41

You could also look on Pinterest for other people's baby quilts, there will be links to tutorials and step by step instructions there.

overmydeadbody Thu 18-Apr-13 07:23:52

nice simple idea for a quilt with old baby clothes

Here's one with nice easy instructions.

Tallyra Thu 18-Apr-13 11:41:24