Talk

Advanced search

Total beginner at knitting... WHY is it wavy?

(14 Posts)
IBlameThePenguins Sun 30-Sep-12 14:45:03

Hello,

I have never ventured on to this part of the board before, but just wondering if any of you crafty types could help...

I can usually knit quite neatly (IF someone casts on for me!) Today I have just learnt to cast on, using a book, and a youtube vid, but each time I try the second and third rows it is looking all bumpy and wavy... Does anyone know why thus might be? I have started and unravelled 4 times now... I'm a couple more attempts away from hurling it accross the room! Grrrrr!

IBlameThePenguins Sun 30-Sep-12 14:45:26

And thank you in advance! smile

iklboo Sun 30-Sep-12 14:49:19

Are you knitting rib rows first? You've got to do a few rows of knit one, purl one to give you a sound 'base' to sit the rest of your knitting on (like cuffs on sleeves etc).

IBlameThePenguins Sun 30-Sep-12 15:44:18

Ooooh, i'm not actually sure. I just started doing a basic stitch (the only kind I know!)... Am off to look up how to knit one purl one on youtube. Thank you!

millymae Sun 30-Sep-12 16:05:46

Could it be something to do with the way you are casting on. I use 2 needles to cast on rather than my thumb and a needle and once there are 2 stitches on the lefthand needle I poke the right needle between stitch 1 and 2, wrap the wool around the point that sticks out, pull the loop through onto the left needle to make the third stitch then repeat between stitch 2 and 3, 3 and 4 and so on until you get the required number of stitches on your left hand needle. Done this way it seems to make no difference whether you knit or purl the next row. It always seems to give a nice firm edge.

iklboo Sun 30-Sep-12 16:05:55

No worries. But be warned - rib is BORING!!! grin