Talk

Advanced search

I have had the loveliest day in Bath

(12 Posts)
Bumperlicioso Wed 22-Jun-11 20:38:09

DH got a tax rebate a few weeks ago and gave me some money to spend on myself smile. Taking my inspiration from the new mag Mollie Makes (love it btw!) I booked onto a sling making workshop at The Makery in Bath. Picture of the finished project on my profile. The class was for complete beginners, which tbh I'm not, and I have made two slings before. But I am no more than competent, and tend to be optimistic rather than good at sewing grin, so it was good to actually learn a few techniques, and appreciate the necessity of patience and meticulousness, neither of which are my forte.

I then ventured into Bath, stopping on my way at a lovely charity shop called Julian House which has fab books, I bought two, Dream Babies which is a critique of parenting advice over the years, and a book on human evolution. I also bought two pictures in my newly inspired attempt to make something of the soulless box we call home.

Then I went into The Makery's shop in town. I want to make a crochet bag (a bag for my crochet) and needed inspiration, so I just did something I never do, picked some ribbon I like to inspire me. I nearly spent so much money on cute things but resisted.

Next stop was a yarn shop called wool. The woman who runs it is so lovely, I just chatted to her while stroking the wool smile. In the end I bought some flesh coloured wool to make some crocheted breasts for my breastfeeding group, and instead of looking hmm at me when I told her, she pulled out of her bag 4 unfinished knitted breasts grin. I also bought one of these ergonomic hooks.