Talk

Advanced search

Fabric width question

(17 Posts)
bigbadbarry Thu 26-May-11 16:48:11

I am new to all this sewing malarky so I apologise if this is a stupid question. I want to make this needle case for a friend - it says I need fabric that is 50 cm x 162 cm. All the fabric I can find online seems to be 110 cm wide, or in a few places 150 cm: does this mean I actually have to buy 162 cm of the damn stuff (or more like 175 I suppose) or is there wider fabric available that I am just missing? At something like 12 quid a metre (I'm on fancymoon and fabric rehab, is that foolish?) this is not going to be the budget gift I had envisaged!

overmydeadbody Thu 26-May-11 17:14:10

hang on a sec while I check that pattern...

bigbadbarry Thu 26-May-11 17:18:00

hanging on...

overmydeadbody Thu 26-May-11 17:22:37

Ok, that is a lot of fabric! Most baric isn't that wide.

What you need to do is sew two peices together to make it 162cm long for Fabric A. It won't matter and it won;t show.

For Fabric B, read the instructions for making the pockets, you can make them individually by making four pockets, rather than one long peice that you then cut into four.

You can buy fabric a lot chewaper than £12 per metre, even at places like John Lewis. In fact, I reccomend you go to John Lewis, rather than fancymoon or fabric rehab. Even try Ebay.

The pockets can be made from a different fabric to the outer fabric.

HTH

overmydeadbody Thu 26-May-11 17:24:06

Oh God I do appologise for my terrible spelling! blush

I hope I made sense!

bigbadbarry Thu 26-May-11 17:25:58

Perfect sense thank you very much. So if I buy a bit of a normal width then cut it in half and sew it together to make a bit 162 cm? (Sorry if I am dense, just trying to imagine it). I thought I could use small bits for the pockets. I'd love to go to John Lewis but it is a Trek from here sad I have a hobbycraft, would that have some?

bigbadbarry Thu 26-May-11 17:55:51