Talk

Advanced search

awaiting cvs test results for chromosomal abnormalities

(47 Posts)
CSL90 Sat 16-Feb-19 18:19:45

Hi, please tell me if I have posted in the wrong place as I’m very new to this..

Myself and my other half are awaiting our CVS (Chorionic Villus Sampling) results as we had a reading of 1:5 risk of Downs Syndrome and 1:77 of Edwards or Pataus. We were really shocked by this.

The NT reading was 3.8 only 0.3 over the higher end of Normal, the HCG was low and the PAPP-A was Normal. So only two out of the three tests were abnormal.

Has anyone had experience with this cause I was thinking it would al need to be slightly wrong of the risk was higher..

Thank you in advance!

GandTisgoodforme Mon 18-Feb-19 07:42:37

Hi CSL,

Sorry to read that you are facing the CVS limbo, it’s a horrible time.
The combined screening isn’t worth the paper it is written on, I take it you had the NHS screening?

Now, the closer the NT is to normal range, is a more reassuring sign.
Usually in a Down’s syndrome pregnancy the HCG is normally higher than average and the PAPP-A is low.

I have only found one other person with low HCG and a low PAPP-A that had a Down’s syndrome pregnancy after many hours of scouring the net. I don’t know if any ladies on here have similarly had an issue with normal PAPP-A and low HCG.

Realistically there’s an 80% chance that your baby doesn’t have T21. Many women with a risk such as yours go on to have normal pregnancies, even with NT measurements in the 5-7mm region.

I hope that your results go well, a massive hug and hand hold to you. flowers it’s a really stressful time.

GandTisgoodforme Mon 18-Feb-19 07:47:30

Sorry! Forgot to add, sometimes age increases the risk ratio with the blood results.

CSL90 Mon 18-Feb-19 07:57:29

Thank you so much for replying
GandTisgoodforme..
Yes we had the NHS screening.