Talk

Advanced search

1 in 33 chance for DS - now waiting for Harmony test results

(15 Posts)
vivedi Wed 06-Dec-17 09:56:23

Hi, I am new to mumsnet. I am 34 years old and currently 14 weeks pregnant.

We had our NT scan last week on Thursday. NT measurement was excellent at 1.5mm so I really didn't expect the call I got on Monday morning telling me we had a 1 in 33 chance of our baby having Down's Syndrome.

My blood test results are what increased our odds, as my free beta HCG was 3.09 and my PAPP-A was 0.29. Nevertheless, I am still shocked at how bad our odds are given that the scan showed no abnormalities.

My husband and I had discussed what we wanted to do in case it came back as high risk (never really expecting us to, though) and I managed to get us a private appointment for the Harmony test on Monday evening.

Because the appointment was in the evening, the lab will probably only receive the blood samples today, though, so we are still looking at another 5-7 day wait.

We are planning to keep the baby, regardless of the outcome of the Harmony test which is also why we opted for NIPT as we didn't want to take the risk of an amniocentesis.

The past two days have been tough, the waiting is so hard and I am so upset at the odds we were given.

Has anyone else here been in this situation or is anyone else currently waiting for their Harmony test results?

Bellamuerte Wed 06-Dec-17 10:56:36

I was upset with my NT result but the hospital said age is a factor in the NT calculation, so my blood results could be good and at a level that wouldn't cause concern in a younger woman, but my age (mid 30s) could drag the numbers down. I subsequently had Harmony which came back as low risk.

1 in 33 is still only 0.03%; try not to worry until you get your Harmony results.

vivedi Wed 06-Dec-17 11:05:13

Thanks. I was told it wasn't my age, although of course if you're in your early or mid 20s you start out with much better odds.