Talk

Advanced search

Great ob-gyn in London?

(8 Posts)
californiagirl77 Tue 05-Sep-17 20:02:36

Hi everyone, I'm new to London and am trying to find a wonderful gynecologist. I am trying for my first pregnancy at 40, and so looking for customized care to help me through a high-risk pregnancy.

I have NHS, but coming from California am used to private and personalized care so quite nervous about using NHS. Can anyone recommend a wonderful gynecologist (either covered by NHS or private)?

Also, any advice on where/how to get private health insurance? Thanks!!

Frazzled2207 Tue 05-Sep-17 20:05:09

Hello, not in London so can't help directly but are you already pregnant? If so I wouldn't worry about the nhs, I had two complicated pregnancies and apart from the postnatal ward chaos they were great.
Sure someone will be along with suggestions shortly.

Helspopje Tue 05-Sep-17 20:08:00

If in St thos region then Cathy neilson piercy is v good
All mine were looked after by Kate harding at st thos

Out2pasture Tue 05-Sep-17 20:12:50

www.chelwest.nhs.uk/private-care
my dd was very pleased with the dr.'s and care.

californiagirl77 Wed 06-Sep-17 15:21:48

Thanks so much, everyone. Super helpful. I will take a look at both St. Thomas' and Chelsea and Westminster Hospitals.

Has anyone heard about a great obstetrician/gynecologist at University College London Hospital and/or what the reputation of the doctors/services are there? It looks like it is mostly male doctors and I would prefer a female doctor.

Thank you!!

MulderitsmeX Fri 08-Sep-17 17:22:11

Emeke okaro at the Portland has helped lots of friends (+me!) With early pregnancy related bits.

Dr Mcindo at Nuada on Harley Street did my ERPC earlier this year and he was a fantastic surgeon (plus had no problems with me coming back every 2 weeks having google diagnosed myself with various things)