Talk

Advanced search

Facing medical termination on Monday

(19 Posts)
purcellfan Thu 06-Oct-11 03:46:39

We found out yesterday that our son has multiple abnormalities, probably due to a rare genetic disorder and have made the difficult decision to terminate at 21 weeks rather than wait to miscarry naturally and so I will be induced on Monday. It's especially sad as the cvs I had at 12 weeks came back clear so we've been hoping for the best for the last two months. At the moment I can't stop crying. It would be great to hear any experiences of med termination if anyone is able to help, eg how long did it take, how much did it hurt etc, particularly anyone who went through this around 20 weeks if you feel able to reply. Thanks.

CheerfulYank Thu 06-Oct-11 04:01:59

I have no experience with this at all but didn't want to leave you unanswered.

I'm really very sorry you're having to deal with this. sad

Jacksmania Thu 06-Oct-11 04:11:28

I'm so, so sorry this is happening to you. I have no personal experience, but my friend was 21 weeks in mid-June and found out her baby had died. She was induced and had to deliver the baby. She was given an IV, and offered lots of pain meds or an epidural when the contractions started. She declined both because she found the contractions quite manageable, but when it came time to push, she opted for morphine in her IV so she could "check out", as it were. She left hospital several hours after she delivered. Her reasoning was that she felt well enough and saw no reason to stay and would be happier in her own bed. (Yes, she's an incredibly tough wonderful woman.)
She had a room apart from the regular birthing rooms, and was treated with great kindness, she said. Nonetheless, she said it was a very hard, awful thing to go through. I'm so sorry you're facing this. (((((((((((((((((((((((*HUGS*))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))

LottieJenkins Thu 06-Oct-11 04:21:20