Talk

Advanced search

How can I be like the other mums?

(16 Posts)
Bettyretro Thu 26-Nov-15 16:16:03

Hello, I'm brand new to Mumsnet (and being a mum!) so please excuse me if I've posted in the wrong place or miss any MN etiquette!

I have a lovely 4 month old daughter, born after a long struggle with infertility. I recently admitted to my GP that I have been very depressed and anxious since her birth, and I am now being treated with talk therapy.

Meanwhile, i'm embarrassed at the way I live and care for my baby and myself. I took her to the doctors today (my husband had to drive us as I don't drive), and on the way home I saw plenty of nice, relaxed-looking mums with prams enjoying a morning in town. I was so sad and jealous. I find it so hard to get me and the baby up, fed and dressed, let alone negotiate the walk into town or wrangling her in cafes etc. She is a chronic catnapper, which doesn't help, taking a 30min nap in her crib every 90mins; so as soon as I'm ready to go anywhere, I have to put her back to bed or she gets overtired and cranky. I tried going to a mums' group, which was a massive effort, but when I got there I got overwhelmed and confused about some of the rules of the venue (leaving prams outside etc), and I embarrassed myself and started crying - we had to come straight home!

I guess my question is - has anyone else felt like this, like they're not 'doing Mummying' properly? Did you get past it? Did it become easier to get out and about?

She's four months old, I don't have the excuse of having a 'newborn' any more. blush

Iwantakitchen Thu 26-Nov-15 16:22:31