Talk

Advanced search

PND with second child

(21 Posts)
Emmabubble123 Thu 01-Jan-15 17:53:46

This is my first time writing on a forum but I'm not sure where else to turn and just wanted to make sure I'm not alone in how I'm feeling... I'm 25 with a 3 yr old little girl and just had my son 5 months ago. For the last 2 months I've been feeling incredibly low and tearful which has gotten worse by the day... Yesterday my doctor diagnosed me with PND and offered me anti depressants which I refused as everyone I've spoke to (most of which have taken them in the past) have told me horror stories about them and said they would make me worse. Instead my doctor has referred me to a counsellor. I think my PND is mainly down to juggling both children, my 3 yr old hasn't been jealous at all but is very demanding as most 3 yr olds are but she constantly wants me to play with her and says things that makes me feel guilty if I don't, most of the time I'm too exhausted to play with her as my son still wakes allot in the night and I find I keep snapping at her. I also think I've been comparing to much to when I had my daughter as everything was perfect then , she slept through, I could fit everything around her and I was the happiest I've ever been, the complete opposite to how I am now...My partner is great with the kids but I think he's getting fed up with my relying on him too much even though he doesn't show it and does everything I ask... Also ive been very open to my frends and family about how I've felt and told them I had my doctors appointment this week and not one person has text to see how it went which makes me feel very alone...I'm starting to think maybe anti depressants would be better to lift my mood but I'm so scared to take anything... Has anybody else felt like this with their second child? Ps I'm sorry I've rambled on so long!!!

Emmabubble123 Thu 01-Jan-15 18:17:55

Anyone??

jimijack Thu 01-Jan-15 18:22:57

Yep. I've been there.