Talk

Advanced search

What do you tell people when you are not drinking?

(9 Posts)
ScarIettOHara Sat 06-Nov-10 16:43:25

Hello - I've just had my BFP (hope I'm getting the abbreviations right - I'm new to this) confirmed - first time - completely clueless!

It's my DH's birthday tonight and we are going out for drinks with a few friends... It is unheard of me to not drink usually (really - I'm going to miss my chardonnay)and the venue is local so I cannot say that I'm driving... Plus have a few social things coming up involving cocktails (which I have organised!) What do other people say?!

BrainMash Sat 06-Nov-10 16:49:00

Say you're on antibiotics.

or that you've got to drive first thing in the morning.

Congratulations by the way! smile

ShowOfHandsInEpistolaryForm Sat 06-Nov-10 16:49:07

There is nothing you can say that doesn't sound silly and doesn't scream 'I'm pregnant!' Particularly not anything about antibiotics. grin

Go to the bar, get a drink, drink it. Nobody will ask what you're drinking. If somebody offers you a drink say 'I've got one' or 'no thanks' or 'yes please but just an orange juice this time'. You don't need to say anything. If somebody thrusts a drink in your hand say 'thank you' and then just don't drink it. Put it down or give it to your dh.

And congratulations. Have a nice night.

ShowOfHandsInEpistolaryForm Sat 06-Nov-10 16:49:54

x-posts.

Honestly, 'I'm on antibiotics' is French for 'I'm pregnant'.

ScarIettOHara Sat 06-Nov-10 16:53:33

Thank you ladies - I like the 'I'm driving early in the morning' idea... going to tell them I'm getting up early and feel tired (trust me - I look tired!)

BrainMash Sat 06-Nov-10 16:57:00

Ha ha...maybe not the antibiotics one then grin

You could have an OJ and say it's got vodka in it.

Smiler80 Mon 22-Nov-10 14:52:48