Talk

Advanced search

To expect school dinners for my coeliac daughter?

(98 Posts)
jurisfictionoperative Sat 10-Apr-10 02:20:01

When my daughter was diagnosed as coeliac, I enquired as to wether there was a gluten free option for school dinners.
I was told that there wasn't as 'they couldn't cater for every preference'!
Excuse me for being picky, but surely vegetarianism is a 'preference', coeliac being a health threatening condition, along with nut and shellfish allergies? I think that this is discrimination, would a disabled person user be denied ramps because they prefer to use a wheelchair? And yes, I know that this is an extreme comparison, but the whole thing makes me cross! We go to a restaurant, and the poor kid has to have chips, or a jacket potato, every time, because nobody caters for coeliacs, yet when I worked as a waitress, we had many more requests for gluten free than vegetarian!

abouttoleave Sat 10-Apr-10 02:23:43

I think YABU but I am sure many others wont

abouttoleave Sat 10-Apr-10 02:24:57

I wouldnot expect the school to cater for my child's (similar) dietary needs. I provide a packed lunch

jabberwocky Sat 10-Apr-10 02:33:30

It's very difficult to have to be on such a strict diet and I do feel for you. But I think YABU to expect the school to have special lunches.

BitOfFun Sat 10-Apr-10 02:34:05

It would be nice, but no, not practical for the price of mass catering. It would require separate prep areas etc, and they'd have to do the same nut and dairy-free etc. It's a shame, but thems the breaks.

ChippingIn Sat 10-Apr-10 02:34:29

YABU

If you have a child with a dietary difference - then you have to accept that the school may not be able to cater for them, if they can, great - if they can't you provide a packed lunch.

I say this as a vegetarian, if the school doesn't provide veggie dinners - then they'll have a packed lunch. Not a big deal.