Talk

Advanced search

to think this is just a bit wrong?

(10 Posts)
BettyTurnip Thu 12-Nov-09 11:06:01

This poor woman was maimed by her friend's pet hmm chimpanzee and is now disfigured as a result. Am I the only one to think that it's almost like a circus freak show to get her on the Oprah show to "unveil her injuries" for the first time? Having said that, it is the Sky news website...

There is a place to click further down for pictures. I didn't, tbh. news.sky.com/skynews/Home/World-News/Chimpanzee-Attack-Charla-Nash-Unveils-Injuries-For-First-Time-O n-The-Oprah-Winfrey-Show/Article/200911215451911

Disenchanted3 Thu 12-Nov-09 11:10:23

fucking hell, that poor woman.

most american 'talk shows' are frek shows look at 'maury povich' parading around obese kids and all sorts.

BettyTurnip Thu 12-Nov-09 11:14:11

I sort of thought Oprah was a bit above that (God knows why as I never watch it). I couldn't bring myself to look at her injuries and I am a nurse ffs.

Unbelievably sad for her.

paisleyleaf Thu 12-Nov-09 11:21:52

I remember hearing the 911 call on the news at the time. It was very chilling.

Disenchanted3 Thu 12-Nov-09 11:23:06

why the hell was she in an open space with a chimp anyway?

posieparker Thu 12-Nov-09 11:24:50

Awful. Why oh why do people keep these animals as pets? Selfish twats.

anonymous85 Thu 12-Nov-09 11:30:25

My God that is so sad

Olifin Thu 12-Nov-09 16:19:33

Bloody hell. Poor woman.

I really had no idea that chimps could grow as big (14 stone!) and strong as that. I agree with posie. Keeping exotic or dangerous animals as pets is asking for trouble.

Lulumama Thu 12-Nov-09 16:35:07

I would advise anyone of a sensitive nature NOT to look at the pics or video. it is really shocking

i am disgusted that this woman could keep a pet like this, and that after it had attacked her friend once, she carried on keeping it like a pet