Talk

Advanced search

to be sick of work making me feel like a naughty kid for being pregnant!

(22 Posts)
TotallyAndUtterlyPaninied Fri 30-Oct-09 19:18:32

I am a contractor so I waited until I was 18 weeks pregnant and my contract was secured at work before I told them I was pregnant. I then walked in on my boss bitching about me to another member of staff saying how is she meant to cover my hours etc etc.

I told personel and they seemed ok at first but I had to call back in to tell them when I'd told my boss. I did and sort of jokey 'oh my word, how cringey' told them that I'd walked in on boss shouting about it and had banged a chair so that she realised I was there. Both members of staff in personel said 'right' and quickly moved on with a completely different tone to how they had spoken to me only half an hour before.

Since then they keep pestering me to go to lectures when I'm working and they copy my boss into the e-mail to try and get me into trouble for not going.

Then they have started pestering me to get my degree certificate to them. I have worked there over 2 years and never been asked to get my degree cert to them. They are saying that they've given me 'long enough' and if inspectors see that they have been 'chasing me for 12 months' it won't look good. How the hell was I supposed to know they wanted it?

All the e-mails and bitchy and have taken on a very formal tone. I also feel like when I walk into the office at work everyone is weird with me.

Why should I be made to feel guilty for having a family?

echt Fri 30-Oct-09 19:35:15

Are the lectures compulsory? If they are and you can get into trouble about not going to them, then go.

As for the stuff about the degree certificate, contact them formally in writing to note that this is the first time you've been asked about this and that you would like to see the evidence of them "chasing" you about it.