Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

To let my 3 year old watch lots of telly whilst I chill out (37 weeks pregnant!)

(13 Posts)
eggontoast Mon 26-Oct-09 14:16:30

I am 37 weeks pregnant. My 3 year old has just discovered Disney films and Tom and Jerry. I have finished full time work to wait for the impending arrival of number 2. I keep getting a pang of guilt, although, I dont really know why, because he seems happy as larry to watch TV for hours!!

I have never done this before, and still ensure he gets books read at bedtime, we do counting, baking and he always cooks lunch and tea with me every day. We go out for a walk almost every day for about 45 mins to park, on his scooter, but I feel a little bit like I am letting him down when I see him glued to the TV in the mean time!! He is so clever and loving and special and I want him to be happy when the baby comes, so I am glad he has something that entertains him as I will be busy as hell with new one!!!

AAAAAAAAAAGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHH why do I insist on trying to label myself the perfect parent? I cant possibly do that now can I? wink

pigletmania Mon 26-Oct-09 14:18:27

YANBU just chill and relax girl you deserve it, your ds sounds like he is absolutely fine smile

corblimeymadam Mon 26-Oct-09 14:18:34

Message withdrawn

MatNanPlus Mon 26-Oct-09 14:18:52

It is fine tho the novelty might wear off before the baby arrives so maybe limiting it to 30 minutes a time now will mean he will be happy to sit for longer after the baby arrives.

shockers Mon 26-Oct-09 14:21:42

If you're putting your feet up why don't you watch with him?
You sound like you're doing lots of other stuff too... don't be so hard on yourself, you have exceptional circumstances!!

PacificWerewolfwoohood Mon 26-Oct-09 14:22:43

YANBU.

Cbeebies is your friend grin.
DS1 and 2 were positively square eyed when I was sitting BFing DS3.
They seem to be ok now - no ASBOs, no convictions, no twitches wink.