Talk

Advanced search

AIBU to suspect that the Fantastic Mr Fox film has been ruined by Americans?

(34 Posts)
CornishKK Tue 13-Oct-09 08:54:46

Loved the book as a child, loved it, I've been hoping for thirty years that it would be made into a good film.

Mr Fox with an American accent, talking about real estate and using a credit card???

Baseball references?

FFS.

The whole movie is American, and from what's just been said on Breakfast, the main characters are all American and the baddies are English.

hmm

CornishKK Tue 13-Oct-09 08:59:51

An American Mr Badger? Ridiculous.

DorotheaPlentighoul Tue 13-Oct-09 09:00:24

I know, it makes my heart sink. YANBU.

rosieposey Tue 13-Oct-09 09:01:07

OMG cornish i am so there with you! I watched the trailer on youtube and was sooo disapointed - they have totally ruined it. I remember my dad reading that to me and it being one of my favourite stories (im 37) and i still love it and have read it to all of my children now.

Cant believe they have bastardised it so badly - i wont be going to see it as i dont want the lovely pictures that i have built up in my head relating to the story (beautiful rolling english countryside, proper foxes dens ect ect)

CornishKK Tue 13-Oct-09 09:02:54

James & The Giant Peach was bad enough but this, this is an outrage.

I will watch it though. But just so that I can get cross. grin

quidnunc Tue 13-Oct-09 09:03:58

I share your misery. DS has been hopping about the place for weeks, ever since he found out FMr.F is to be made into a film. He will be upset about any change from the book. So annoying. They've done the same (i.e. ruined, dumbed-down and trashed) with Winnie the Pooh, Rupert, et al.

(On the filp side the Pixar movies are outstanding. Shrek etc., all are v. good)

So, YA-definitely-NBU.

CornishKK Tue 13-Oct-09 09:08:15

Hoorah, my first AIBU and I'm not.