Talk

Advanced search

to be annoyed that the midwife is late.

(23 Posts)
abbierhodes Tue 06-Oct-09 09:58:04

I took a couple of hours off work to see her for my booking in appointment at 9. I have to be in work by 11.30, so if she's much longer I won't be able to see her.

It is realy difficult to get time off as I'm a teacher, so I can't just book a morning off, I have to get my lessons covered etc.

She hasn't even phoned, and she's an hour late.

hobbgoblin Tue 06-Oct-09 09:58:47

shes possibly stuck on delivery suite???

PeachyTentativelyPosting Tue 06-Oct-09 09:59:41

Emergency or traffic- havng ben accompanied to hospital a few times in the past by comm MW on rounds (BP) it happens.

Do you not have her number?

Alibooobaandthe40Phantoms Tue 06-Oct-09 10:01:06

Unfortuately this is pretty common when midwives are visiting you at home. Call outs, homebirths etc all disrupt the best laid plans.

Do your school know that you are pregnant? My friend is a teacher and she told her head right away and they were very good with being flexible for time off.

abbierhodes Tue 06-Oct-09 10:03:54

I've tried ringing her, there's no answer. I've left a message. I suppose it could be an emergency. School do know I'm pregnant, and they're great, it's just inconvenient. I'm not sure whether to ring them and tell them I'll be even later as I'm still waiting for her, or just give up on her and go in.
If there's an emergency I could wait all day and still need another day off!

GhostWriter Tue 06-Oct-09 10:06:09

Yes YABU.

Midwives are very often delayed and while it can be something straightforward like traffic, it's usually because another pregnant woman needs her, or a very new Mum.

It's frustrating but you don't know what is happening to another pregnant/new mother out there.

Alibooobaandthe40Phantoms Tue 06-Oct-09 10:06:11

Have you got a general community midwife number? If you haven't then your GP surgery should have it, or if they don't then the hospital will.