Advanced search

'There is no such thing as poverty in this country'

(573 Posts)
RealityIsHavingAPartay Sat 01-Aug-09 09:59:20

Message withdrawn

AramintaCane Sat 01-Aug-09 10:02:05

Oh my - i am speechless poor you.

luckylady74 Sat 01-Aug-09 10:03:56

I think the only way to get through to people like your sister is to witness the poverty first hand.
Take her with you to a charitable organization where she can help out and see how many people are working very hard to help themselves, but are stuck in the grinding poverty trap.
How far does she think the toilet cleaning wage would go towards her mortgage?
I'm not good at pithy so sorry I have no answer!

gigglinggoblin Sat 01-Aug-09 10:05:39

Have you or your kids starved yet? It depends on your view of poverty. I could never class someeone in this country as poor when there are children dying due to lack of clean water.

And yes I have lived on income support.

I am also guessing that you are after an argument as there is no way you would have posted this otherwise.

GrapefruitMoon Sat 01-Aug-09 10:07:14

It's a very subjective thing IMO. Re the washing machine thing - I would personally struggle without one but my grandmother had to manage without as she lived in a house without electricity or running water when her children were young. But people had less clothes then and maybe hygiene standards were lower.

I think we live in such a materialistic society that a lit of people feel poor even if they have enough to eat, a house and clothes. Whereas in a poorer country they would be deemed well-off...

scottishmummy Sat 01-Aug-09 10:08:16

denens how you define poverty.does she mean relative or absolute?sadly too many families live in poverty.

your SIL is really rent-a-cliche.does she really believe that stuff

you know what No one knows what awaits them , lost job,mortgage default and one can slide into debt and poverty

lots iof useful info inc
endchildpoverty

Scorpette Sat 01-Aug-09 10:08:36