Talk

Advanced search

aibu to agree with this?

(8 Posts)
LeonieSoSleepy Wed 15-Jul-09 11:38:12

Message withdrawn

Dophus Wed 15-Jul-09 11:41:39

I'm a neuroscientist. There is indeed serotonic deficiency in many (but not all) depressed patients.

They are not equivalent in these patients to taking valium or LSD.

As to whether the depression caused the serotonin deficiency or vice versa this is not known.

LeonieSoSleepy Wed 15-Jul-09 11:46:38

Message withdrawn

LeonieSoSleepy Wed 15-Jul-09 11:50:49

Message withdrawn

LeonieSoSleepy Wed 15-Jul-09 12:08:03

Message withdrawn

Dophus Wed 15-Jul-09 12:28:13

I disagree entirely - but really don't ahve the time to discuss now! smile

I work in the pharmaceutical industry and therefore fundamently believe in pharmacology.

Ritalin is indeed very similar to amphetamine and does indeed act in the same way. It has a very different affect on ADHD and normal humans. Amphetamine in normal humans has the oppposite effect to tht which you've described.

However I agree with you that these drugs (both antidepressants and methylphenidate) are massively over-prescribed. This does not reflect the mechanism of action of the drugs nor the pathology of these disorders but misdiagnosis by the doctors and a willingless to write a presciption rather than more appropriate support e.g CBT.

moosemama Wed 15-Jul-09 12:31:34

I am no neuroscientist, a doctor or even anyone of scientific knowledge, so am sorry if I am not getting the 'slant' of this thread properly (if so I will happily shut my rattle and slope off again grin). I have however suffered from both PND and depression at different times in my life.

I would agree that there is more to pnd than 'just' low serotonin levels. This is why treatment should always include some sort of talking therapy/counselling as well.